Requirements for cold storage warehouses that store fish

Please note that the following information is provided to support CFIA inspectors in their activities for the certification of fish exported from Canada to the EU. Maintenance of the official text for EU legislation, and the interpretation of that legislation, is the responsibility of the European Commission. Further, member states may adopt additional country specific requirements that are not addressed by EU legislation. All exporters should confirm product requirements before commencing full scale production for export. The CFIA assumes no liability for the accuracy of this information.

The following countries are member states of the EU: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (including Guyana, Martinique, Guadeloupe and Réunion), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (including Andorra and Canary Islands), Sweden, and the United Kingdom. While Norway and Iceland are not official EU Member States, they have adopted EU requirements and fish exported to those countries are subject to the same requirements listed below. Products landed in either Norway or Iceland may proceed to EU Member States without any additional import controls.
Our team will be happy to answer any of your import/export questions. You can schedule an appointment at your convenience and get started without delay with our reliable customs broker.